Update: Things You Might Like To Read – I

Alright. Just a quick update. I’m working on a review at the moment, but I won’t get it finished for a few days, so I just wanted to throw a couple of recommendations at you.

theautumnlands_vol1-1

First, if you haven’t picked up Kurt Busiek and Benjamin Dewey’s The Autumnlands yet, what on earth are you playing at? Busiek has long been a favourite comics writer of mine and this book from Image is magical stuff. The central premise – a bunch of intelligent anthropomorphised animals living in the distant future reaching back through time to recover a ‘hero’ in order to help them restore magic to the world – is hook enough, but Dewey’s art is just phenomenal. Those animals simply throb with life and pathos; Dewey does an incredible job of bringing Busiek’s thoughtful and often subtle characterisations to life. The Autumnlands is the best Busiek I’ve read in a long long time. (Mind you, I’m not reading his new Astro City at present, so I’m very much open to being corrected.) As is usual with Image books, the first trade is available at a special introductory rate. I highly recommend it.

Secondly, if you haven’t checked out Marvel’s ongoing Epic Collection series, then, again, you probably should. Each volume clocks in at around 450 pages, features extras like editorials and concept art, and aims to present a pretty comprehensive archive of a particular hero or group. I finished reading the first Moon Knight one Bad Moon Rising a few months ago. This was a particularly interesting example of the line. Moon Knight’s origin was not something I was familiar with and this volume collects not only his first appearance as a mercenary-turned-hero in Werewolf By Night but also guest stints in The DefendersMarvel Two-in-One and Peter Parker: The Spectacular Spider-Man. As you might expect, the quality is variable, but once the collection begins includmoon-knight-bad-moon-risinging the back-up strips from the Hulk! magazine, creators Doug Moench and Bill Sienkiewicz  really hit their stride and both the character and the storytelling itself start to shine. (The story in which Moon Knight is pitted against his unhinged brother is particularly impressive.) The Epic Collections are coming out at a fair clip. My advice is to choose a character or three and stick with them. You’ll end up with a nice quality collection of reprints of your favourite Marvel characters from the 60s, 70s, 80s and early 90s. If I had the time, I’d give you a complete run-down of the volumes released by Marvel so far, but it’s easy enough to find on the net in any case. Doctor Strange, The Defenders and Daredevil have all had excellent releases this year, though. Again, highly recommended stuff.

8 comments

    • jddunsany

      They certainly are. I’ve been telling anyone who’ll listen that they’re absolutely worth getting. 🙂

      Just wish that DC would do something similar. But, then, I wish that DC had an app similar to Marvel Unlimited, too. A man can dream!

  1. jddunsany

    @ Paul Bowler: Oh, the lack of a DC app is a huge bugbear with me. While I bought both DC and Marvel books in the 80s, I was more of a DC fan than a Marvel-phile. I *long* for a DC app. I pick up the odd back issue or collection on Comixology from time to time, but to have complete runs of things like New Teen Titans or LSH at my fingertips… Like I said, a man can dream! Lol!

Leave a Reply

